Nba Teams By State Chart

The chart lists NBA teams by state, including the Phoenix Suns in Arizona, multiple teams in California, and single teams in various other states such as Georgia, Massachusetts, and Texas.
State NBA Teams
Arizona Phoenix Suns
California Golden State Warriors, Los Angeles Clippers, Los Angeles Lakers, Sacramento Kings
Colorado Denver Nuggets
Florida Miami Heat, Orlando Magic
Georgia Atlanta Hawks
Illinois Chicago Bulls
Indiana Indiana Pacers
Louisiana New Orleans Pelicans
Massachusetts Boston Celtics
Michigan Detroit Pistons
Minnesota Minnesota Timberwolves
New York New York Knicks, Brooklyn Nets
North Carolina Charlotte Hornets
Ohio Cleveland Cavaliers
Oklahoma Oklahoma City Thunder
Oregon Portland Trail Blazers
Pennsylvania Philadelphia 76ers
Tennessee Memphis Grizzlies
Texas Dallas Mavericks, Houston Rockets, San Antonio Spurs
Utah Utah Jazz
Wisconsin Milwaukee Bucks
Washington Washington Wizards

The NBA Teams By State chart provides a comprehensive list of the NBA teams across different states in the United States. The chart showcases the state and the respective NBA teams within that state. From the chart, we can see that states like California and Texas have multiple NBA teams, while other states have one NBA team representing them. This chart serves as a useful reference for basketball enthusiasts and fans to easily identify the NBA teams associated with each state.


Which state has the most NBA teams?

California has the most NBA teams with four teams, including the Los Angeles Lakers, Los Angeles Clippers, Golden State Warriors, and Sacramento Kings.

How many NBA teams are based in Texas?

There are two NBA teams based in Texas, namely the Houston Rockets and the San Antonio Spurs.

Which state has the fewest NBA teams?

There are several states that do not have an NBA team, but Wyoming is the only state without an NBA team or any major professional sports team.

Are there any NBA teams based in Canada?

Yes, there is one NBA team based in Canada. The Toronto Raptors are the only Canadian team in the NBA.

How many NBA teams are located in New York?

There are two NBA teams located in New York. These are the New York Knicks, based in Manhattan, and the Brooklyn Nets, based in Brooklyn.

How we write our statistic reports:

We have not conducted any studies ourselves. Our article provides a summary of all the statistics and studies available at the time of writing. We are solely presenting a summary, not expressing our own opinion. We have collected all statistics within our internal database. In some cases, we use Artificial Intelligence for formulating the statistics. The articles are updated regularly.

See our Editorial Process.

... Before You Leave, Catch This! 🔥

Your next business insight is just a subscription away. Our newsletter The Week in Data delivers the freshest statistics and trends directly to you. Stay informed, stay ahead—subscribe now.

Sign up for our newsletter and become the navigator of tomorrow's trends. Equip your strategy with unparalleled insights!